Sandwich and marinated, roasted red peppers in the concert venue’s parking lot – 6 June 2017

I always forget to photograph dinners that are significantly out of the ordinary. Well, I guess I’ve got an excuse for this one. Arrived after 2 1/2 hours driving what should have been a 70 minute trip, and didn’t really have time to take my lunch to the picnic area in this beautiful spot. Ate sitting in the driver’s seat {sigh}.

But it was a good dinner – sandwich with some “Danke” cheese form Germany that I bought at the Bowl when they had it for tasting, mayonnaise, romaine, on an Acme Rustic Sweet Baguette. A quarter bottle of some Kono Marlborough sauvignon blanc (Trader Joe’s) that we had in the fridge. (A large ice packet to keep those two cold.) and some marinated red peppers, that I really need to record here, b/c they were most excellent. This was the remaining half of the pepper I roasted for a pizza a couple days ago. I didn’t use it all, and cut this part into fat strips, about half a pepper in length. I made a dressing based on a mix of recipes online, but mainly from christinascucina.com. I was trying to get something reminiscent of the marinated peppers in Vino Volo’s “Burrata” dinner, which I take on planes when I have a chance, so to Christina’s recipe I added balsamic vinegar, which I saw in a few other recipes. It was perfect!! I had wanted to use red wine vinegar, but, astonishingly, we were out. We’d noticed being out and never managed to get it onto the shopping list. But the balsamic was super.

Here’s the recipe for half a roasted red pepper, which was an excellent size for one serving:

1 teensy clove garlic, minced
1/2 Tbsp olive oil (EVOO)
1/2 tsp Kosher salt – OOPS! a scant “dash” is correct here: 1/12 tsp (dash = 1/8 tsp)
a couple of finger-pinches dried oregano
1/2 tsp balsamic vinegar

[corrected 170711]

I mixed this well, folded in the red pepper pieces and mixed well again, and placed in a glass bowl (covered) in the fridge overnight to marinate.

Lunch:

We ate up the remaining “ravs” from dinner. D heated sage leaves in butter, and added the ravioli to heat through. Grated parmaggiano over the top. Good lunch, but D still didn’t like the spinach (writing this the 9th: I ended up tossing the rest of the filling 😦 )

This entry was posted in Cheese, Meatless, Sandwich, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sandwich and marinated, roasted red peppers in the concert venue’s parking lot – 6 June 2017

  1. Pingback: Burrata at 86 feet instead of 37,000 – 2 July 2017 | A Dinner Blog

Leave a Reply

