Cheese “foccacia” with taleggio; salad, tomatoes, and teeny turnips – 30 July 2014

I decided to make this “foccacia” again, buying taleggio at The Cheese Board before they went on their annual August vacation. The foccacia is explained in a previous post, which I used as the recipe for tonight’s dinner. The dough is unleavened – just flour, oil, and water, rolled thin, and baked with large dots of cheese between two layers of dough, oil and salt on the top. Actually, the picture last time was more exceptional.

main140730This time I remembered to oil and salt it before baking, which meant I didn’t remove it hurriedly and have the opportunity to poke it down when it was just beginning to cook. Ergo, quite a domed upper crust this time! Great taste and great texture, though đŸ™‚

main140730-sidewaysmain140730-topways

setting140730Writing this the 11th of August based on the pictures, but I see I also made a salad with avocado and olives (and romaine) with a simple vinegar and oil dressing, and also set out wedges of Dirty Girl Produce dry-farmed early girl tomatoes, and teeny turmips from Riverdog Farm.

 

wine140730

 

D decided that a wine already in the fridge, a big favorite that we can always get at Berkeley Bowl, would be a good choice. As I recall, it did go pretty well with this meal. Moulin de Ferrand “Entre Deux Mers” – a refreshing white.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lunch:

lunch140730OK, I really don’t remember what was in the sandwich, but I’m guessing this was the time we used the Caccio-Cavalo cheese from Cheese Boare, Romaine, and tomatoes. This bread is from Alvarado Street Bakery, and is very tasty and a nice texture. I am fond of sturdier crusts, but bought this b/c we used to like it, and I wanted an alternative to the white breads for occasions where it would work fine to have a whole grain bread instead. I keep it in the freezer. Since it’s pre-sliced (!) I can just pull out what I want and let it defrost for a short time, then use it. the salad is more early girls and some celery, including leaves, over romaine. A delicious combination. The leaves add quite a lot of richness to the celery flavor.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.