Chevre with tomato sauce, herbs, and olives; broccoli – 18 November 2013

I knew I would be late getting home, so I planned this meal. It also was based on the fact that I opened a 1-lb vat of Laura Chenel chevre from Costco for my pizza Saturday. This is a recipe from Patricia Wells, and uses what we call “Wells sauce,” and she calls “Tomato Sauce.”

main131118I weighed out something less than 4 oz of chevre and divided between two casuelitas, topped with finely chopped herbs (rosemary and marjoram) something less than the called-for 1/4 cup (each) of Wells sauce, four halved Nicoise olives (each) (Gaeta would also work well), and more of the herb mix. I have some aluminum foil that I keep with the casuelitas that is folded into shape to sit over the edges of the dishes to protect them from the broiler, and I drop these onto the dishes, then broil about 3 minutes, till the cheese begins to bubble. I put them onto a tray for convenience, and move them onto plates for serving using canning tongs, which are perfect for picking up large, round things.

Broccoli – the usual: I cut up a small head of broccoli, peeled the stems and cut them up, put them, topped with florets, in a steamer and steamed 3 minutes, then poured the hot water into the serving bowls to heat them, added 1 Tbsp butter to the pan, and tossed the broccoli in the butter, salting it in the process.

wine131118An Acme Italian Batard was perfect with this meal.

We had a new wine from The Wine Mine tonight – a Corbieres D found, only $10. I didn’t think it had what we regard as “the Corbieres taste,” however, we both really liked the wine and will definitely buy more.

 

131118

This entry was posted in Cheese, Meatless, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.